American Fashion’s Most Talented Designers Honored At 2017 CFDA Awards.

mp59675_jpg-240990-originalThe year’s most talented designers in American fashion were honored at the annual CFDA Awards. Held at New York’s Hammerstein Ballroom, this year’s prestigious awards not only honored the American fashion designers shaping the industry, but also the political activists shaping the world with a special Board of Directors’ Tribute to Gloria Steinem, Planned Parenthood’s Cecile Richards and Janelle Monae.

The big winner of the evening was Calvin Klein’s Raf Simons, who took home both the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award and the Menswear Designer of the Year Award, becoming the first designer to win both awards in one night since Calvin Klein himself back in 1993.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards (otherwise known as the Academy Awards of the fashion world) took place tonight at Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City, and although fans of the annual event were not able to witness all of it’s high-fashion beauty on the small screen, we’re here to keep you up to speed on who took home an award at the fashionable event.

rs_1024x759-170605190430-1024-amber-valetta-karen-cfdaSome very famous faces, including Heidi Klum, Diane Kruger, Olivia Palermo , Mandy Moore, Olivia Munn and more, attended the glittering event.

As previously noted, the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards, in partnership with Swarovski for the sixteenth year, was hosted by funny man Seth Meyers, who previously hosted the award ceremony in June 2012.

There were some notable presenters including Karen Elson and Amber Valletta, as well as Jon Bon Jovi‘s giving the first-ever Swarovski Award for Positive Change to his good friend, designer Kenneth Cole. The rocker, who was suited up for the special occasion, said a poignant quote, “It’s great to be recognized for your shoes, but it’s better to be recognized for your soul.”

Previously, Diane Von Furstenberg, chairwoman of the CFDA, said in a statement: “I am so happy that Seth agreed to be our host.” She added that Meyers’ “charm, wit and intelligence will enhance an evening that we plan to be very festive.”

Menswear Designer of the Year:1470148293-hbz-raf-simons-calvin-kleinWINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein 



Robert Geller

Thom Browne

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder

Accessory Designer of the Year:

WINNER: Stuart Vevers for Coach PIC1index





Irene Neuwirth

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Paul Andrew

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent:

landscape-1465170975-elle-monse-fernando-and-laura-portrait-preferred-highresWINNER: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse





Virgil Abloh for Off-White

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

Gabriela Hearst

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

1470148293-hbz-raf-simons-calvin-kleinWINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein





Marc Jacobs

Joseph Altuzarra

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row




Inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole






Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens






International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga






The Founder’s Award: Pat McGrathCecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáeindex 




Board of Directors’ Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe






Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani, Italian Vogue editor-chief, posthumous

Comments are closed.